Holy Saviour/East End Website Holy Saviour/East End Website Holy Saviour/East End Website
Holy Saviour

History

History:
1895 - 1919
1919-1945
1945-1968
1968-1995
1995-Present


"Memories of Wilkes-Barre"
by Father J.J. Curran
First Pastor of Holy Saviour Church

1995 to Present

Father Kelly was followed by Father William Karle. During Father Karle's tenure. the parish entered into Bishop Martino's "Called to Holiness and Mission" and was combined with the parishes of North Wilkes-Barre to form a new parish community. Father Karle was instrumental in working with the implementation Committee which laid out plans for the new parish.

In 2009, Father Kenneth Seegar was appointed administrator of Holy Saviour and in 2010, pastor. In his time as administrator and pastor Father Ken tended to the spiritual needs of the parishioners, implemented fiscal responsibility, increased parish donations and undertook the much needed renovation of the church, which continues to be ongoing.

In addition, Father Ken was also given the added responsibility for the churches of North End namely Sacred Heart-St. John's and St. Stanislaus Kostka.

In several difficult months, Father Ken has restructured parish staff, established a parish office that is capable of meeting the needs of a larger parish and set about implementing the consolidation of the three parishes into a new parish community. A solemn Mass of Transition, celebrated on June 21, 2011 marked the end of Holy Saviour Parish and ushered in its corporation into the Parish of St. Andre Bessette. The long and rich history begun by immigrant will not be forgotten, but will be woven into the fabric of a history yet to unfold.

1968 - 1995 << Back


Find us on Facebook
There have been
405
visitors to this website

Click green play button below to hear the song Old East End created by Pat Boyle

 
eastendmemories@gmail.com